New Dynasty

Well it’s 2018 and I just bought me a new PS3 to relive some of my glory days of playing NCAA football. Here are the rules I’m going to implement in my dynasty. All rules are subject to change.

 

Dynasty house rules are:

 

Sim 1st season as existing coach, create coach at end of year and select best offer.

    • As a coordinator, you can only choose offense or defensive players to redshirt. And you can only redshirt players who AREN’T going to be on  two deep depth chart. (Unless its a QB)

 

RECRUITING RULES:

LIMITS

Three Visits

I can only schedule three visit all year long.

 

No Scouting

I can not scout any of the prospects that are on my board. Once a kid commits to my program I can then scout him to see what I’ve got.

 

No Kitchen Sink

No upgrading the kitchen sink skill.

 

Note: Coastal/Border school defined as any school within 170 miles of the border or coast line.

Coordinator Restrictions

You can only recruit players on the side of the ball you coordinate.

 

As an OC/DC. all assists are left on (Head Coach has final say). First year, and thereafter if coach prestige is lower than C-, I can only recruit 4 players, in state only. Head Coach has say in who the rest of the players being recruited are. How many players I as the coordinator can recruit depends on my prestige level. 

    • C-C+ can recruit 5 players
    • B- – B can recruit 7 players
    • B+- A- can recruit 8 players
    • A – can recruit  9 players
    • A+ can recruit  10 players

 

 

Local (1*)

Can only recruit from our home state.

 

Close to Home (2*)

I can only recruit my home state and players within 250 miles of campus. 400 miles if coastal\US border school

 

Regional (3*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 400 miles of campus 600 miles if coastal\US border school

 

Regional (4*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 550 miles of campus. 850 miles if coastal\US border school

 

National (5*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 800 miles of campus. 1400 miles if coastal\US border school

 

National (6*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 1100 miles of campus. 1800 miles if coastal\US border school

 

Head Coach Class Size Limits

Leaving Seniors +2

I can only have two more players on my board at any time than I have leaving my program. If I have 15 seniors I can only have a 17 players on my board and I can only sign 17 that season as well.

 

REGIONAL RESTRICTIONS

Pipelines

The player can’t be higher than my team prestige unless we start out as their top school.

Note: Coastal/Border school defined as any school within 170 miles of the border or coast line.

 

Local (1*)

Can only recruit from our home state.

 

Close to Home (2*)

I can only recruit my home state and players within 250 miles of campus. 400 miles if coastal\US border school

 

Regional (3*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 400 miles of campus 600 miles if coastal\US border school

 

Regional (4*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 550 miles of campus. 850 miles if coastal\US border school

 

National (5*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 800 miles of campus. 1400 miles if coastal\US border school

 

National (6*)

I can only recruit my home state, pipelines and players within 1100 miles of campus. 1800 miles if coastal\US border school

 

INTEREST RESTRICTIONS

In State

I can recruit any players in my schools home state.

Pipeline States

I can recruit any player from pipeline states. The player can’t be higher than my team prestige unless we start out as their top school.

Regional & National States

I can only recruit players who I start off in there top 10. The player can’t be higher than my team prestige unless we start out as their top school. I must be in the recruits starting Top 10 to be able to recruit them.

Three Outsiders

I can only recruit players who I start off in there top 10. The player can’t be higher than my team prestige unless we start out as their top school.

Tools for figuring out distances

School List

Radius Tool

 

Coach Progression Rules

 

You can not become a head coach, ANYWHERE, until you are a coordinator for at least 5 seasons. (unless current coordinator school offer you HC and you’ve been there at least 3 seasons)

I must complete a minimum of 50% of the length of any Head Coaching contract I sign.

 

When Accepting HC job

If only after five years at your first job (or one school), you can only accept HC job at 1 star school. Each year after that you can accept one prestige higher, as long as it is not higher than your current schools prestige.

  • Example
    • After 5th year: Can accept HC job at 1 star school.
    • After 6th year: Can accept HC job of 2 star school or less. If your current school is a 3 star
    • After 7th year: Can accept HC job of 3 star school or less if your current school is a 4 star.
    • After 8th year: Can accept HC job of 4 star school or less if your current school is a 5 star.
    • After 9th year: Can accept HC job of 5 star school or less if you current school is a 6 star:
    • After 10th year: If your school is a 6 star and your prestige is an A you can accept a HC job at a 6 star prestige.

If you’re in your second job and a mid major coordinator, after two years you can accept a HC job. A similar timeline, but you may start as a 3 star school HC instead of a 1.

 

If you’re in your second year of a major coordinator, you may accept a HC job at a 4 star prestige school.

 

SCHEDULING

 

These rules are only for non conference scheduling

 

1 & 2 Star:

  • You can schedule 2, 4, 6, etc games with 2 stars or less. And alternating home games. Home and Home games
  • You can schedule 2 for 1 with 3-4 star (you get 1 home game and 2 road games)
  • You can schedule away games with 5-6 star teams. NO HOME GAMES
  • can play only 1 FCS team per year
  • Must play at least 1 game per year vs 1 or 2 star, 3 or 4 star, 5 or 6 star.

3 & 4 Star:

  • You can schedule 2 for 1 with 1-2 star. (you get 2 home games and one road game)
  • You can schedule home and home games with 3-4 Stars
  • You can schedule 2 for 1 with 5-6 stars (you get 1 home game and two road games)
  • CAN NOT schedule FCS teams EVER
  • Can only play one game vs 1-2 star per year. And must schedule a 3-4 star game and 5-6 star game.

5 & 6 Star:

    • Can do Home and homes vs 5-6 star
    • Can schedule 2 for 1 vs 3-4 star teams (you get 2 home games)
    • Can schedule 1-2 star teams but only one per year, and it’s at home

 

  • CAN NOT schedule FCS teams EVER
  • Must schedule a 5-6 star game. and 3-4 star game

 

 

OTHER RESTRICTIONS:

Players Leaving Early

I can only try and convince one player a year to not leave early or transfer to another school.

 

Yearly AWR Adjustments

Another problem with this game is that human player progression is far quicker than the computer. It is not uncommon to see a human player progress +15 AWR points in the course of a season. This makes the game very easy if you do a sim/play setup like I do. To fix this I reset all returning players, who’s AWR is greater than 76, back to 76 during the preseason.

 

Coaching Progression Speed

This needs to be set to the slowest speed. You must do this when you set up the dynasty, you will not be able to change this once you have started the dynasty!

 

CONFERENCE SETUP:

Relegation Systems

 

Update conferences every 2 season…

 

To be in Tier 1

Must be 4*

5* and 6* will be in tier 1 no matter what. They can only drop to lower tier if prestige drops to 4* or lower

IN GAME & SLIDERS:

(UPDATED: Before 2027 Season) These sliders are not designed to provide the most realistic stats known to man, they are to provide me with a tough game. I only play a couple games a year and I would rather have them be hard to win. Personally they provide me with what I’m looking for but might be a little extreme compared to many of the slider sets posted on the site. The computer will blow up multiple runs in the back field every game, I have passes dropped like crazy when contact is made, blocks missed, my defense misses tackles, my d-backs will get trucked etc. When I am coaching a great team these provide a good challenge, when I am playing with a bad team I want to throw the controller through the tv sometimes, but I know as I build the program up they start playing easier and easier.

 

Heisman Offense

Human/Computer

10/60 Quarterback

30/55 Pass Block

0/55 Catch

50/70 RB Ability

0/85 Run Block

 

Heisman Defense

Human/Computer

40/95 Pass Coverage

20/35 Interception

50/100 Rush Defense

45/50 Tackling

 

Penalty Sliders

OPI & DPI to 0 – This will cause tighter coverage and more battles for the ball but human Int needs to be lowered as you will get a lot more due to the much more aggressive DB play.

 

In Game Adjustments

Big Run = Aggressive, with Rush Defense at 100 this causes more fumbles.

Holding Blocks = Conservative, increase difficulty of run game.

Catching = Aggressive, more dropped passes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑